The winners of the Study UK Alumni Awards 2017 in Greece were announced at a prestigious award ceremony on Wednesday 1 March 2017 at the British Ambassador’s Residence. The ceremony was hosted by the British Ambassador HE Kate Smith CMG and Director British Council Greece, Mr Tony Buckby. Legendary shoe designer and UK alumnus Professor Jimmy Choo, OBE, Global Ambassador of the Alumni Awards, was guest of honour. Watch video highlights from the ceremony.

The winners of the Alumni Awards 2017 are:

Professional Achievement Award

Maria Roubelakis University of Oxford

Entrepreneurial Award

Georgios Sotiropoulos University of Leeds, Leeds University Business School

Social Impact Award

Theodoros Anagnostopoulos King’s College London and Imperial College London and Newcastle University 

Find out more about Study UK Alumni Awards 2017 finalists and winners – as well as the judging panel – in the ‘Downloads’ section below, and watch their videos to get inspired!

Meet the finalists

Speaking at the ceremony, the British Ambassador HE Kate Smith CMG said: ‘Education has the power to transform lives. This year’s Study UK Alumni Awards finalists in Greece demonstrate how a UK education can develop talented individuals into outstanding achievers and leaders in their chosen field.’

Tony Buckby, Director British Council Greece, said: ‘I am delighted that we are able to launch the Study UK Alumni Awards in Greece this year. The award is all about honouring the success of individuals whose achievements here in Greece have been, in some measure, influenced by their experience of studying at a UK university. We celebrate with them and congratulate them not only on their impressive professional successes but in their capacity as “ambassadors” for UK higher education.’

Spiros Soulis, Alumni Awards 2017 Ambassador Greece, said: ‘Studying in the UK offered me everything that I had expected to gain and more! It is a great pleasure and an honour for me to be the Ambassador of the British Council Alumni Awards 2017 in Greece and to support this exciting initiative which is taking place for the first time in our country.’ 

External links